And it begins…

by ahthompson

So here it is. My first post.

Starting tomorrow, I will be embarking on a journey to change my life and my lifestyle. I have been overweight forever, literally–not even joking. I can’t remember what it feels like not to be overweight.As a result of my weight, I suffer from chronic fatigue and back pain and high blood pressure.

People prejudge you when you’re overweight–even relatives. It hurts and I’m tired of it. I’m more than ready to take the limits off of my life, because being overweight is truly limiting.

So, why am I overweight? This is a question I’ve asked myself time and time again.

I think it goes back to my childhood. I am the product of a tumultuous divorce. I felt the effects of my parents’ break-up very deeply. Growing up, I would worry about the simplest of things and I would have panic attacks. I suffered from anxiety and depression and chronic headaches for years. I truly believe that overeating has been a stress-reliever for me, but it is one that has only compounded my problems and given me more to worry about.

I have a fear of breaking chairs or not fitting in them at all. It controls a lot of what I do and where I go. And I’m sick of it.

This blog is the first step towards true freedom, so I invite you to join me in this journey. If you have anything to share, feel free to comment.

Onward and upward!!