by ahthompson

It’s been a while since I posted about my journey and I thought I’d share some thoughts with you guys. Things have not been easy for me, but then again, anything worth having is never easy to attain. I knew that going into this, but that doesn’t make it any less difficult.

But it is easier than ever before because I have a much better support system in place. (Big shout out to the FIIF Getting Serious About Weight Loss Facebook group). A have family and friends who are rooting for me, and I have God on my side. It’s easier, but it’s not easy.

However, I’m making progress. I’m getting used to eating smaller portions and I’m making better food choices. My clothes are even fitting better. And I had a breakthrough of sorts just this weekend…

For years, I’ve hated taking pictures. So much so that at one point in time I went years without letting anyone take a single, solitary photo of me. I hated seeing myself and my body. I hated what it stood for–a lack of control and weakness. I hated seeing the visible effects of the hurt and pain I’ve endured. I hated being ashamed of how I looked. So I just refused to look at myself other than in the mirror and that was only long enough to pick out my hair.

And if I’m totally honest with you and myself, I still dislike my appearance…and I’m still ashamed of it. I still despise taking pictures. So when I decided to participate in a literary festival this weekend, I had a dilemma to face. I knew there would be photo ops, so what to do? Well, I’ll tell you what I decided. I decided that my books and this budding career as an author mean too much to me to hide behind a computer screen and some book covers forever. So…I took pictures–many pictures. And I posted them for all the world to see. This is a HUGE deal for me.

But I did it!

I’ve decided that these pictures will be my “before” pictures. I’ll continue to post pictures of myself at events and I plan for those pictures to chronicle an extraordinary transformation.

I can do this. I know I can. But will y’all please pray for me? Thanks in advance and thanks for reading.